Tobacco Dipping DUI Georgia

Tobacco Dipping DUI Georgia
If you test over a .08% blood alcohol content (BAC) level in Georgia, you can be charged with driving under the influence. This limit is much lower for underage drivers and commercial vehicle drivers: .02% and .04%, respectively. Unfortunately, the breathalyzer tests used to determine BAC can be affected by things other than alcohol. If you dip tobacco, the results of your breathalyzer may be artificially inflated, leading to a DUI arrest.

There have been cases in which a person who dipped tobacco tested over the legal limit for alcohol, even if they have not consumed any alcoholic beverages. While the Intoxilyzer 5000 is supposed to have a safety guard that indicates the presence of chemicals other than alcohol, it doesn’t always work properly. If the machine malfunctions, an innocent person may be charged with this serious criminal offense.

If you were recently charged with a false positive on the Georgia breathalyzer test, an experienced DUI lawyer may be able to help. At Head, Thomas, Webb and Willis, all of our lawyers have undergone the certification course on the Intoxilyzer 5000 conducted by the manufacturer. Thanks to this training, they understand the test’s limits and weaknesses.

We can move to have the breathalyzer test results thrown out if our analysis proves that your false positive was caused by dipping tobacco. If that doesn’t work, we can call on witnesses who can testify that you had nothing to drink before getting behind the wheel. We will also look at the police report to determine if any other signs, besides the breathalyzer, indicated that you were impaired by alcohol.

Some people feel that fighting their DUI charges is pointless, believing that they will never win their case. Fortunately, our law firm is well known for our track record of producing winning results for Georgia residents accused of drinking and driving. Our fees are affordable, and we offer payment plans if requested. All of our clients also receive a FREE copy of The DUI Book, written by a partner in our firm, which explains every stage of the Georgia drunk-driving process.

Even if you had a false positive, your license may be immediately suspended if you do not submit a license appeal letter to the Department of Driver Services (DDS) within 10 days. Our lawyers handle this service for FREE when you retain our legal services.

Please submit your case information online today or call our 24-hour phone number and one of our experienced lawyers will promptly contact you for a FREE consultation on your dipping tobacco DUI case.

Fill Out a Free Online Case Evaluation Immediately!

Credit Cards AcceptedPayment Plans Available