DUI Jail Time Georgia
Judges must abide by the mandatory minimum jail sentence when determining your penalties; however, your sentence could be increased at the judge’s discretion. For example, you could be sentenced to up to a year of jail time for a first offense, though all but 24 hours may be suspended in lieu of probation. If you fail to comply with the terms of your probation, you will be ordered to complete your suspended jail sentence.
The amount of jail time you receive depends on several factors, including the number of prior DUI convictions on your record. If you are charged with a felony for a fourth offense, you could be sentenced to serve at least 12 months in a state prison.
If you were involved in another crime while under the influence, you may face additional charges resulting in more jail time. For example, you could be charged with child endangerment for transporting a child at the time of the incident. Causing an accident resulting in death or serious injury could result in hard prison time.
Our lawyers can look at the circumstances of your case and explain the potential penalties, including jail time, that you may face. We will also discuss the potential defenses that can be used to successfully fight your charges.
Head, Thomas, Webb and Willis represents clients across the State of Georgia in DUI cases—no matter where you live. Our lawyers know that facing a DUI is a stressful experience and will do anything possible to help you avoid a conviction and penalties. Our firm offers affordable rates and can set up a payment plan upon request.
For a FREE consultation with an experienced lawyer, a FREE copy of The DUI Book, and a FREE administrative license suspension appeal letter, please submit your case details online or call our 24-hour phone number today.
Fill Out a Free Online Case Evaluation Immediately!
Payment Plans Available