DUI Georgia First Offense
When determining the penalties for a first offense, the judge must abide by the state’s mandatory minimum sentencing guidelines. While these penalties cannot be reduced, the judge can increase them based on the circumstances of your case.
The mandatory minimum penalties for a first DUI offender include 24 hours behind bars, fines ranging from $300 to $1,000, and 40 hours of community service. You will also have to attend a 24-hour risk reduction course to get your driver’s license reinstated.
A 12-month probation period will also be ordered, though it will be reduced by any jail time served. This means that if you spent 24 hours in jail, your probation period will be 11 months and 29 days. During probation, you must abide by the strict terms, such as checking in with your probation officer or attending Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, to avoid increased penalties.
One of the long-lasting effects of a DUI Georgia first offense is the criminal record. Because erasing this conviction off your record is almost impossible, you may have difficulty getting a job that requires a clean background check. The only way to avoid a criminal record is to fight your drunk driving charge in the first place.
The lawyers at Head, Thomas, Webb and Willis have helped countless clients across the state avoid a conviction. With a proven track record of winning cases or having DUIs reduced to a lesser offense, we have the skill and necessary to help you at this time.
To receive a FREE, no-obligation, one-hour case evaluation, please submit your information online today or call our 24-hour phone number. We also offer a FREE license appeal letter to fight your license suspension and a FREE copy of The DUI Book that explains every stage of the process.
Fill Out a Free Online Case Evaluation Immediately!
Payment Plans Available